Minnesota Divorce Guide

Annulment

Find out if your marriage can be annulled by speaking with a Michigan attorney for a reasonable price. $39.00!

A marital annulment in Minnesota is more difficult to get than most other states. If you want an annulment (sometimes called a marriage annulment which voids the marriage as if it never existed), you must act quickly. There do not appear to be forms available, so you should seek an attorney’s help with the process. An annulment will be issued if one proves:

  • A party lacked capacity to consent (and the petition is filed no later than 90 days after the petitioner obtained knowledge of the described) or by the under aged party, the party’s parent or guardian, before the time the under aged party reaches the age at which the party could have married without satisfying the omitted requirement
  • One party has a mental illness
  • One party was under the influence of alcohol, drugs or other “incapacitating” substance at the time of the marriage ceremony
  • One party is not able to consummate the marriage with sexual intercourse and the other party did not know this at the time of the marriage ceremony
[Minnesota Statutes – Chapters: 517.01, 517.03, 517.05, 518.01-.02]

Share this page with friends on social media

Site AdminMinnesota Divorce Guide

Leave a Reply